President Howard Featured by the National Football Foundation for Winning the Inaugural William V. Campbell Trophy

June 18, 2014

In 1990, President Chris Howard was the inaugural winner of the William V. Campbell Trophy. The Campbell Award is given by the National Football Foundation and is awarded to the "absolute best scholar-athlete in the country for his academic success, football performance, and exemplary community leadership." Dr. Howard has been featured by the National Football Foundation as part of the 25 Years of the Campbell Trophy, his profile includes a photo album of Dr. Howard in his playing days, a video of him explaining what the Campbell Award means to him, and links to articles he has written about being President of Hampden-Sydney. Past winners of the Campbell Award include current Broncos' quarterback, Peyton Manning (1997), former Jets' quarterback Chad Pennington (1999), and former University of Florida quarterback standout and NFL quarterback, Tim Tebow (2009). Dr. Howard will attend this year's Campbell Award trophy presentation on December 9 at the Waldorf Astoria in New York City.