2016-2017 Academic Calendar

 

Approved by the Faculty 4/2016

Fall 2016

First Semester

August 19 Friday Freshmen and transfers report
22 Monday All other students report
24 Wednesday Classes begin
30 Tuesday Last day of Add Period
September 7 Wednesday Last day of Drop Period without Record
October 12 Wednesday Deficiency reports due in the Registrar's Office
17 Monday No classes"
18 Tuesday No classes*
21 Friday Last day of Drop Period with "W"
25 Tuesday Rhetoric Proficiency Examination
25 Tuesday Beginning of registration for spring courses
November 3 Thursday Close of registration for spring courses
22 Tuesday Thanksgiving break begins after classes
28 Monday Classes resume
December 6 Tuesday Last day of classes
7 Wednesday Study day**
8 Thursday Study day
9 Friday First day of final examinations
11 Sunday Study day
14 Wednesday Last day of final examinations

Spring 2017

Second Semester

January 15 Sunday New and transfer students report
17 Tuesday All students report
18 Wednesday Classes begin
24 Tuesday Last day of Add Period
February 1 Wednesday Last day of Drop Period without Record
March 10 Friday Spring break begins after classes
20 Monday Classes resume
22 Wednesday Deficiency reports due in Registrar's Office
28 Tuesday Rhetoric Proficiency Examination
31 Friday Last day of Drop Period with a "W"
April 4 Tuesday Beginning of registration for fall courses
11 Tuesday Close of registration for fall courses
May 2 Tuesday Last day of classes
3 Wednesday Study day**
4 Thursday Study day
5 Friday First day of final examinations
7 Sunday Study day
10 Wednesday Last day of final examinations
14 Sunday Graduation

* For students who wish to remain on campus on October 17 through 18, residence halls will remain open and
meals will be provided.
** Rhetoric 100, 101, and 102 editing examinations will be scheduled on the first study day each semester.