Faculty Profiles

Search by Name, Department, or Alumni Class to filter the results.  All faculty profiles are linked within the Academic Departments as well.
Find out what H-SC faculty are doing in their fields of study: Faculty Scholarship


Dieudonne AfatsawoDr. Dieudonne K. Afatsawo
Associate Professor of Modern Languages
Bagby Hall 303 | (434) 223-6336
dafatsawo@hsc.edu

William AndersonDr. C. William Anderson
Elliott Professor of Chemistry
Gilmer Hall 208 | (434) 223-6181
wanderson@hsc.edu

Frank ArcherC. Frank Archer
Associate Professor of Fine Arts
Winston Hall 203 | (434) 223-6367
farcher@hsc.edu

Mary Ann ArcherMary Ann Archer
Lecturer in Fine Arts
Winston Hall 206 | (434) 223-7205
marcher@hsc.edu

Dr. James A. ArietiDr. James A. Arieti
Thompson Professor of Classics
Maples 5 | (434) 223-6252
jarieti@hsc.edu

George BagbyDr. George F. Bagby
Elliott Professor of English
Morton Hall 025 | (434) 223-6247
gbagby@hsc.edu

Roger BarrusDr. Roger M. Barrus
Elliott Professor of Government & Foreign Affairs
Morton Hall 315 | (434) 223-6235
rbarrus@hsc.edu

Robert BlackmanDr. Robert H. Blackman
Associate Professor of History
Maples 004 | (434) 223-6957
rblackman@hsc.edu

Dr. Steven BloomDr. Steven D. Bloom
Associate Professor of Physics and Astronomy
Gilmer Hall 010 | (434) 223-6170
sbloom@hsc.edu

Susan BookerDr. Susan Lee Booker
Visiting Assistant Professor of Rhetoric
Atkinson Hall 304 | (434) 223-6954
sbooker@hsc.edu

Matthew BowmanDr. Matthew B. Bowman
Visiting Assistant Professor of Religion
Maples 26 | (434) 223-6313
mbowman@hsc.edu

Gerald BoykinLt. General Gerald W. Boykin
Wheat Visiting Professor of Leadership
The Wilson Center 100 | (434) 223-7266
wboykin@hsc.edu

Victor CabasDr. Victor N. Cabas
Adjunct Associate Professor of Rhetoric
Morton Hall 203 | (434) 223-6316
vcabas@hsc.edu

Tony CarilliDr. Anthony M. Carilli
Professor of Economics
Morton Hall 221 | (434) 223-6314
tcarilli@hsc.edu

Jerry CarneyDr. Gerald T. Carney
Professor of Religion
Maples 023 | (434) 223-6268
gcarney@hsc.edu

Celia CarrollDr. Celia M. Carroll
Associate Professor of Government & Foreign Affairs
Morton Hall 319 | (434) 223-6243
ccarroll@hsc.edu

Dr. Stanley A. CheyneDr. Stanley A. Cheyne
Professor of Physics and Astronomy
Gilmer Hall 011 | (434) 223-6178
scheyne@hsc.edu

John CoombsDr. John C. Coombs
Associate Professor of History
Morton Hall 027 | (434) 223-7261
jcoombs@hsc.edu

Evan DavisDr. Evan R. Davis
Associate Professor of English
Morton Hall 115 | (434) 223-6245
edavis@hsc.edu

Ken De LucaKenneth M. De Luca
Adjunct Associate Professor of Government & Foreign Affairs
Morton Hall 103 | (434) 223-6233
kdeluca@hsc.edu

Claire DealDr. Claire E. Deal
Elliot Professor of Rhetoric
Morton Hall 114 | (434) 223-6988
cdeal@hsc.edu

Dr. Nicholas DeifelDr. Nicholas P. Deifel
Assistant Professor of Chemistry
Gilmer Hall 218 | (434) 223-6179
ndeifel@hsc.edu

Elizabeth DeisDr. Elizabeth J. Deis
Elliott Professor of Rhetoric and Humanities
Morton 019 | (434) 223-6250
edeis@hsc.edu

Jana DeJongDr. Jana M. DeJong
Associate Professor of Modern Languages
Bagby Hall 311 | (434) 223-6211
jdejong@hsc.edu

Gregory DempsterDr. Gregory M. Dempster
Elliott Professor of Economics
Morton Hall 222 | (434) 223-6230
gdempster@hsc.edu

Dr. Ed Devlin, Chair and Elliott Professor of BiologyDr. Ed W. Devlin
Elliott Professor of Biology
Gilmer Hall 107 | (434) 223-6173
edevlin@hsc.edu

Eric DinmoreDr. Eric G. Dinmore
Associate Professor of History
Maples 002 | (434) 223-6279
edinmore@hsc.edu

Matthew R.  DubroffMatthew R. Dubroff
Lecturer in Fine Arts
Johns Auditorium 203 | (434) 223-6362
mdubroff@hsc.edu

Kevin DunnDr. Kevin M. Dunn
Elliott Professor of Chemistry
Gilmer Hall 219 | (434) 223-6181
kdunn@hsc.edu

John EastbyDr. John H. Eastby
Elliott Professor of Government & Foreign Affairs
Maples 001 | (434) 223-6312
jeastby@hsc.edu

Caroline EmmonsDr. Caroline S. Emmons
Professor of History
Maples 001 | (434) 223-6297
cemmons@hsc.edu

Wanda FenimoreDr. Wanda Little Fenimore
Lecturer in Rhetoric
Morton Hall 003 | (434) 223-6255
wfenimore@hsc.edu

Pam FoxPamela P. Fox
Elliott Associate Professor Fine Arts
Winston Hall 101 | (434) 223-6389
pfox@hsc.edu

James FrusettaDr. James W. Frusetta
Associate Professor of History
Morton Hall 022 | (434) 223-7206
jfrusetta@hsc.edu

Lowell FryeDr. Lowell T. Frye
Elliott Professor of Rhetoric and Humanities
Morton Hall 016 | (434) 223-6215
lfrye@hsc.edu

Dr. Jinzhuo Zhao GarrettDr. Jinzhuo Zhao Garrett
Assistant Professor of Economics
Morton Hall 003 | (434) 223-6200
jzhao@hsc.edu

David GibsonDr. David W. Gibson
Professor of Economics
Morton Hall 215 | (434) 223-6228
dgibson@hsc.edu

Rachel GoodmanDr. Rachel M. Goodman
Assistant Professor of Biology
Gilmer Hall 106 | (434) 223-6705
rgoodman@hsc.edu

Stacey GorskiStacey Ann Gorski
Visiting Assistant Professor of Biology
Gilmer Hall 127 | (434) 223-6326
sgorski@hsc.edu

Nicole GreenspanDr. Nicole L. Greenspan
Associate Professor of History
Maples 027 | (434) 223-6354
ngreenspan@hsc.edu

Gabriella Gruder-PoniGabriella Gruder-Poni
Visiting Assistant Professor of Rhetoric
Johns Auditorium 205 | (434) 223-6248
ggruder-poni@hsc.edu

Robert HallDr. Robert G. Hall
Elliott Professor of Religion
Maples 024 | (434) 223-6249
bhall@hsc.edu

Sarah HardyDr. Sarah B. Hardy
Elliott Professor of English
Morton Hall 111 | (434) 223-6239
shardy@hsc.edu

Kristian Hargadon '01Dr. Kristian M. Hargadon
Elliott Assistant Professor of Biology
Gilmer Hall 108 | (434) 223-6261
khargadon@hsc.edu

Ralph HattoxDr. Ralph S. Hattox
Elliott Professor of History
Morton Hall 318 | (434) 223-6108
rhattox@hsc.edu

Dr. Paul HemlerDr. Paul F. Hemler
Professor of Mathematics & Computer Science
Bagby Hall 110 | (434) 223-6202
phemler@hsc.edu

Dr. Robert T. Herdegen IIIDr. Robert T. Herdegen III
Professor of Psychology
Bagby Hall 219 | (434) 223-6166
rherdegen@hsc.edu

David HigginbothamDr. David E. Higginbotham
Visiting Assistant Professor of Rhetoric
Morton Hall 201 | (434) 223-6982
dhigginbotham@hsc.edu

Marc HightDr. Marc A. Hight
Elliott Associate Professor of Philosophy
Morton Hall 034 | (434) 223-6388
mhight@hsc.edu

Heidi HulsizerDr. Heidi Hulsizer
Assistant Professor of Mathematics & Computer Science
Bagby Hall 107 | (434) 223-6499
hhulsizer@hsc.edu

Justin IsaacsDr. Justin P. Isaacs
Associate Professor of Economics
Morton Hall 226 | (434) 223-6337
jisaacs@hsc.edu

James JanowskiDr. James D. Janowski
Professor of Philosophy
The Wilson Center 200 | (434) 223-6229
jjanowski@hsc.edu

Dr. Rebecca JayneDr. Rebecca Linn Jayne
Assistant Professor of Mathematics
Bagby Hall 113 | (434) 223-6282
rjayne@hsc.edu

Dr. Dirk R. JohnsonDr. Dirk R. Johnson
Associate Professor and Chair of Modern Languages
Bagby Hall 319 | (434) 223-6204
drjohnson@hsc.edu

Shirley KaganShirley Kagan
Professor Fine Arts
Johns Auditorium 101 | (434) 223-6266
skagan@hsc.edu

Verna KaleVerna L. Kale
Visiting Assistant Professor of Rhetoric
Morton Hall 028 | (434) 223-7058
vkale@hsc.edu

Dr. Jonathan KeohaneDr. Jonathan W. Keohane
Associate Professor of Physics and Astronomy
Gilmer Hall 006 | (434) 223-6176
jkeohane@hsc.edu

Dr. Robb KoetherDr. Robb Tyson Koether
Professor of Mathematics & Computer Science
Bagby Hall 114 | (434) 223-6207
rkoether@hsc.edu

Kenneth LehmanDr. Kenneth D. Lehman
Squires Professor of History
Maples 021 | (434) 223-6309
klehman@hsc.edu

David LewisDavid Dodge Lewis
Barger Professor of Fine Arts
Winston Hall 101 | (434) 223-6295
dlewis@hsc.edu

Dr. Brian LinsDr. Brian C. Lins
Elliott Assistant Professor of Mathematics & Computer Science
Bagby Hall 124 | (434) 223-6264
blins(at)hsc(dot)edu

Dr. Ed LowryDr. David Edward Lowry
Assistant Professor of Biology
Gilmer Hall 132 | (434) 223-6214
delowry@hsc.edu

David MarionDr. David E. Marion
Elliott Professor of Government & Foreign Affairs
Morton Hall 303 | (434) 223-6240
damarion@hsc.edu

Dr. Walter McDermottDr. Walter McDermott
Professor of Physics and Astronomy
Gilmer Hall 008 | (434) 223-6152
wmcdermott@hsc.edu

Daniel G. MosslerDr. Daniel 'Dan' G. Mossler
Professor of Psychology
Bagby Hall 224 | (434) 223-6330
dmossler@hsc.edu

Paul MuellerDr. Paul H. Mueller
Associate Professor of Chemistry
Gilmer Hall 209 | (434) 223-6171
pmueller@hsc.edu

Steele NowlinDr. Steele Nowlin
Elliott Associate Professor of English
Morton Hall 033 | (434) 223-7262
snowlin@hsc.edu

Dr. Julia PalmerDr. Julia E. Palmer
Associate Professor of Modern Languages
Bagby Hall 316 | (434) 223-6213
jpalmer@hsc.edu

Dr. James PattersonDr. James McGill Patterson
Visitng Assistant Professor of Government & Foreign Affairs
Morton Hall 319 | (434) 223-6435
jpatterson@hsc.edu

Dr. David S. PellandDr. David S. Pelland
Associate Professor of Mathematics & Computer Science
Bagby Hall 126 | (434) 223-6886
dpelland@hsc.edu

Dr. Marcus PendergrassDr. Marcus H. Pendergrass
Associate Professor of Mathematics & Computer Science
Bagby Hall 125 | (434) 223-6331
mpendergrass@hsc.edu

Nathaniel PerryNathaniel D. Perry
Elliott Assistant Professor of English and Editor of The Poetry Review
Morton Hall 015 | (434) 223-6315
nperry@hsc.edu

James PontusoDr. James F. Pontuso
Patterson Professor of Government & Foreign Affairs
Morton Hall 321 | (434) 223-6246
jpontuso@hsc.edu

Mary PrevoMary Prevo
Adjunct Associate Professor Fine Arts
Winston Hall 108 | (434) 223-7057
mprevo@hsc.edu

Dr. Susan RobbinsDr. Susan P. Robbins
Adjunct Associate Professor
Morton Hall 024 | (434) 223-6109
srobbins@hsc.edu

German SalinasGerman A. Salinas
Adjunct Associate in Modern Languages
Bagby Hall 321 | (434) 223-6887
gsalinas@hsc.edu

R. David SalvageDr. R. David Salvage
Assistant Professor Fine Arts
Winston Hall 204 | (434) 223-6304
dsalvage@hsc.edu

Tianran Liu SavaiinaeaTianran L. Savaiinaea
Lecturer in Chinese
Bagby Hall 316 | (434) 223-7269
tsavaiinaea@hsc.edu

Shawn SchoolingDr. Shawn H. Schooling
Adjunct Associate Professor of Rhetoric
Atkinson Hall 304 | (434) 223-7150
sschooling@hsc.edu

Renee SeverinDr. Renee Marie Severin
Associate Professor of Modern Languages
Bagby Hall 320 | (434) 223-6201
rseverin@hsc.edu

William ShearDr. William A. Shear
Trinkle Professor of Biology
Gilmer Hall 108 | (434) 223-6172
wshear@hsc.edu

Dr. Janice F. SiegelDr. Janice F. Siegel
Associate Professor of Classics
Maples 06 | (434) 223-7204
jsiegel@hsc.edu

Herb SipeDr. Herbert J. Sipe
Spalding Professor of Chemistry
Gilmer Hall 207 | (434) 223-6283
hsipe@hsc.edu

Dr. Susan SmithDr. Susan M. Smith
Elliott Professor of Modern Languages
Bagby Hall 302 | (434) 223-6986
ssmith@hsc.edu

Saranna ThorntonDr. Saranna R. Thornton
Professor of Economics
Morton Hall 219 | (434) 223-6253
sthornton@hsc.edu

Dr. Kenneth TownsendDr. Kenneth N. Townsend
Elliott Professor of Economics
Morton Hall 225 | (434) 223-6232
ktownsend@hsc.edu

Salif Famory TraoreSalif Famory Traore
Visiting Assistant Professor of Modern Languages
Bagby Hall 006 | (434) 223-6839
straore@hsc.edu

J. Michael UtzingerDr. J. Michael Utzinger
Elliott Professor of Religion and Associate Dean of the Faculty
Atkinson 305 | (434) 223-6118
jutzinger@hsc.edu

Dr. Tom ValenteDr. Thomas Valente
Associate Professor of Mathematics & Computer Science
Bagby Hall 123 | (434) 223-6210
tvalente@hsc.edu

Cristine VarholyDr. Cristine M. Varholy
Associate Professor of English
Morton Hall 116 | (434) 223-6401
cvarholy@hsc.edu

Dr. Alfonso VaronaDr. Alfonso Varona
Assistant Professor of Modern Languages
Bagby Hall 314 | (434) 223-6335
avarona@hsc.edu

Jennifer VitaleDr. Jennifer E. Vitale
Elliott Associate Professor of Psychology
Bagby Hall 223 | (434) 223-6206
jvitale@hsc.edu

Jeffrey VogelDr. Jeffrey A. Vogel
Assistant Professor of Religion
Maples 022 | (434) 223-6299
jvogel@hsc.edu

G. Daniel WeeseDr. G. Daniel 'Dan' Weese
Professor of Psychology
Bagby Hall 221 | (434) 223-6209
dweese@hsc.edu

Katherine WeeseDr. Katherine J. Weese
Elliott Professor of English
Morton Hall 020 | (434) 223-6254
kweese@hsc.edu

Alex WerthDr. Alexander J. Werth
Venable Professor of Biology
Gilmer Hall 127 | (434) 223-6326
awerth@hsc.edu

Dr. David G. WhelanDr. David Graham Whelan
Visiting Assistant Professor of Physics and Astronomy
Gilmer Hall 010 | (434) 223-6710
dwhelan@hsc.edu

Dr. Daniella WiddowsDr. Daniella Widdows
Assistant Professor of Classics
Maples 103 | (434) 223-7264
dwiddows@hsc.edu

Warner WinborneDr. Warner R. Winborne
Associate Professor of Government & Foreign Affairs
Morton Hall 322 | (434) 223-6377
wwinborne@hsc.edu

Mike WolyniakDr. Michael J. Wolyniak
Assistant Professor of Biology
Gilmer Hall 129 | (434) 223-6175
mwolyniak@hsc.edu