35th Hampden-Sydney Poetry Review

January 26, 2010

Poetry ReviewThe 35th Edition of The Hampden-Sydney Poetry Review has been published.

The Hampden-Sydney Poetry Review began to take shape in 1973 through the efforts of poets Michael Egan and Tom O’Grady.  The first edition was printed in 1975.  In 1977 the poets received grants from the Virginia Arts Commission and won the National Endowment for the Arts Editors’ Prize.

In 2008 the Poetry Review reached a turning point in its history when Tom O’Grady (below bottom), Adjunct Associate Professor Emeritus of English and founding editor, retired from the Hampden-Sydney faculty. A new editor, Nathaniel Perry (below top), Assistant Professor of English, took over in the fall of 2008. The Hampden-Sydney Poetry Review is the second longest continuous-run poetry journal in the United States. It is one of only about a dozen magazines nationwide devoted solely to poetry.  

Nathaniel Perry

The magazine has published a long list of the world’s distinguished poets:

   • Nobel laureates Jaroslav Seifert and Ronald Hoffman
   • Pulitzer prizewinners W.D. Snodgrass, Kenneth
            Rexroth, Peter Viereck, Louis Simpson,
           Charles Simic, and Henry Taylor
   • National Book Award winners Robert Bly,
           A. R. Ammons, and William Stafford
   • Former U.S. Poet Laureate Mark Strand
   • Paris Review winner Richard Bentley
   • American Book Award winner May Sarton
   • Theodore Weiss, Marge Piercy, Denise Levertov,
          William Dickey, William Styron, Willie Morris, and others Tom O'Grady

Forty-three university libraries nationwide subscribe to the Poetry Review, including Harvard, Yale, Brown, Cornell, Georgetown, Howard, Vanderbilt, UVA, UNC, and the University of Iowa.

Copies are available at the Hampden-Sydney Bookstore (434-223-6117) for $7 a copy plus shipping.