Eleven Inducted Into ODK

April 30, 2010

On March 28, nine seniors, one junior, and one member of the faculty were initiated into Omicron Delta Kappa, the national leadership honor society for college men and women. The Lambda Circle of ODK was established at Hampden-Sydney in 1924, and membership is a mark of highest distinction and honor. Selection of members is based on their influence as campus leaders to better campus life and to encourage high standards in all activities.

ODK unductees

Pictured are (left to right, front row) Jason Craig Lewis '10, Charlotte, NC; Thomas Matthew Ribaric '10, Lynchburg, VA; (middle row) Robert Everett Bodendorf '10, Orange, VA; Christopher James Collie '10, Danville, VA; Dr. Julia E. Palmer, Associate Professor of Modern Languages; Benjamin West Kinney, LaGrange, TN; Dylan H. Colligan '10, Alexandria, VA; (back row) Kenneth Ray Simon, Jr. '11, Houston, TX; Karlis Trops '10 Charlotte, NC; Harry Lee Warren III '10, Chase City, VA; and Kyle Alexander Martin '10, Chesapeake, VA.

Robert Everett Bodendorf
Patrick Henry Scholar; Sigma Tau Delta (English); Society for Collegiate Journalists; Dean's List All Semesters; Editor - The Garnet; Virginia Outdoor Writers Association Award for his essay, "Up That Mountain"; Varsity Soccer

Christopher James Collie
Venable Scholar; Chi Beta Phi (science); Eta Sigma Phi (classics); Dean's List All Semesters; Resident Advisor; Treasurer - Alpha Chi Sigma; Vice President - Pre-Health Society; Worship Leader - Farmville Wesley Foundation; Farmville Wesley Foundation Council; Habitat for Humanity

Dylan Hale Colligan
Patrick Henry Scholar; Student Court; Vice President - Madisonian Society; Captain - Senior Campaign; Union-Philanthropic Society; Garnet & Grey Society; President's Men; Staff - The Hampden-Sydney Tiger

Benjamin West Kinney
President - Chi Beta Phi (science); Student Court; Head Resident Advisor; Society of '91; Captain - Senior Campaign; Alpha Chi Sigma; Led Outdoor Options Trip; Participated in Beyond the Hill/Rivers of the World Trip to the Dominican Republic; Who's Who among Students in American Universities and Colleges.

Jason Craig Lewis
Madison Scholar; Dean's List All Semesters; General Manager - Tiger Fund; Treasurer - Kappa Alpha; Student Finance Committee; Student Investment Group; Pre-Law Society; Lacrosse Club; Society of '91 Leadership Program.

Kyle Alexander Martin
Allan Scholar; 2009 President's Award for Academic Excellence in Social Sciences; 1st Reviewer - Union-Philanthropic Society; Society of '91; Ethics Bowl Team; Hampden-Sydney Men's Chorus and the Notables; Young Life; Phi Alpha Delta (professional law fraternity); Wilson Center Public Service Program Certificate; Assistant Coach - Prince Edward High School Varsity Girls Soccer.

Thomas Matthew Ribaric
Phi Alpha Theta (history); Departmental Honors in Economics; Head Resident Advisor; Chairman - Good Men Good Citizens; President - Madisonian Society; Student Court Investigator; Society of '91; Garnet & Grey Society; InterVarsity Christian Fellowship; Farmville Wesley Foundation; Hampden-Sydney Men's Chorus; Military Leadership and National Security Studies Program; Who's Who among Students in American Universities and Colleges.

Karlis Trops
Dean's List All Semesters; Resident Advisor; Varsity Basketball; Who's Who among Students in American Universities and Colleges.

Harry Lee Warren III
Allan Scholar; Chi Beta Phi (science); Pi Mu Epsilon (math); Dean's List All Semesters; Vice President and Worship Leader - Young Life; InterVarsity Christian Fellowship; Pre-Health Society; Alpha Chi Sigma.

Kenneth Ray Simon, Jr.
President - Student Body; Student Senate; Resident Advisor; 1st Reviewer - Union-Philanthropic Society; Vice President - Pre-Law Society; Chairman - President's Men; Secretary-Treasurer - College Republicans; Student Court Investigator; Student Finance Committee; Columnist - The Hampden-Sydney Tiger; Military Leadership and National Security Studies Program.

Resident Members
Joseph Edward Bush, Director of Athletics and Head Golf Coach, was elected to membership and initiated on April 25.

Dr. Julia Elizabeth Palmer, Associate Professor of Modern Languages

Current Student Members Prior to March 28:
Cameron Lee Auker '11
John Scott Anderson '10
Tyler Robert Barstow '10
Benjamin James Brawley '10
Benjamin Marshall Brown '10
Brett Robert Chonko '10
James Willis Davis '10
Mohsin Mehboob Fazlani '11
Joseph Ernest Howard '10
Rhorie Peter Richard Kerr '10
Tan Ngoc Duy Le '10
Matthew Earl MacFarland '11
Joshua Paul Miller '10
Miguel Angel Mogollon '10
William Pendleton O. Moss '10
Ian Graham Poole '10
John Blanks Dameron Potter '11
Zachary Evan Roberts '10
Mohit Shrestha '11
Christopher Michael Tait '10
David Harrison Taylor '10