Faculty Appointments

July 19, 2010

Hampden-Sydney Congratulates Newly Tenured, Newly Promoted, and New Faculty

Hampden-Sydney College’s tenure and promotion process recognizes the significant contributions these faculty members have made to their disciplines.

Newly Tenured Faculty
John C. Coombs, promoted to Associate Professor of History; B.A., Arizona State University, 1989; Ph.D., College of William and Mary, 2003.
Pamela P. Fox, Elliott Associate Professor of Fine Arts; B.F.A., Virginia Commonwealth University, 1980; M.F.A., Virginia Commonwealth University, 1990.
Jonathan W. Keohane, promoted to Associate Professor of Physics and Astronomy; B.S., Yale University, 1988; Ph.D., University of Minnesota, 1998.
Hugh O. Thurman III, promoted to Associate Professor of Physics and Astronomy; B.S., Old Dominion University, 1996; Ph.D., Old Dominion University, 2004.

Promotion to Full Professor
Shirley Kagan, Professor of Theater; B.A., Williams College, 1989; M.F.A., University of Hawaii at Manoa, 1996.
Susan M. Smith, Professor of Modern Languages, B.A., California Lutheran College 1966; M.A., University of Virginia 1993; Ph.D., University of Virginia 1998.

Promotion to Adjunct Associate Professor
Germán A. Salinas, Adjunct Associate Professor of Modern Languages; B.S., Universidad del Atlántico, 1991; M.A., University of Arkansas, 2002.

In addition to congratulating newly tenured and promoted faculty, Hampden-Sydney welcomes its new faculty members.
Matthew Connell, Lecturer in Government and Foreign Affairs; B.A., Thomas More College of Liberal Arts, 2001.
Cyrus I. Dillon III, Director of the Library and Academic Information Services; B.A., Washington & Lee University, 1971; M.A., Arizona State University, 1976; Ph.D., Arizona State University, 1979.
Mark R. Holcomb, Visiting Assistant Professor of Physics and Astronomy; B.S., Pittsburg State University, 1990; M.S., University of Mississippi, 2001; Ph.D., Vanderbilt University, 2007.
Heidi Hulsizer, Assistant Professor of Mathematics and Computer Science; B.A., Drury University, 2004; M.A., University of Missouri, 2006.
Pamela D.J. McDermott, Interim Director of the Men’s Chorus; B.M., East Carolina University, 1988; M.Mus., James Madison University, 1992; D.M.A., University of North Carolina at Greensboro, 2010.
Margarita Isabel Montealegre, International Visiting Scholar; B.S., Universidad Nacional Autónoma de Nicaragua, UNAN, 1989; M.F.A., Virginia Commonwealth University, 2004.
Dave Woody, Lecturer in Fine Arts; B.F.A., Colorado State University, 1996; M.F.A., University of Texas at Austin, 2007.