You should be aware that the College complies with the Drug Free Schools and Communities Amendments of 1989 in making students and employees aware of laws pertaining to alcohol and other drugs and by actively discouraging the violation of these laws.
The College has established a policy and guidelines governing the possession, sale and consumption of alcoholic beverages on College property that conform to the laws of the Commonwealth of Virginia.
- In Virginia, a person must be at least 21 years of age to legally possess, consume, or purchase alcoholic beverages. A person of legal age (21 or over) may not lawfully buy alcohol for, or give alcohol to, a person under 21 years of age. Also, any person operating a motor vehicle with a BAC (Blood Alcohol Content) of .08 or higher is considered to be Driving Under the Influence and, at the time of arrest, will have his operator's license suspended for 7 days.
- Virginia law extends the "Drug-Free School Zone" law to college and university campuses; this extension makes it a felony charge for the manufacture, sale, distribution, or possession of illegal drugs with intent to distribute on or near a college or university campus. Conviction can result in penalties ranging from one to five years in prison and a fine of up to $100,000, as well as the withdrawal of certain basic constitutional rights.
- Any person known to be in violation of any of the above-mentioned laws is subject to College disciplinary action, arrest, imprisonment and/or fine according to state law. Note that the civil and criminal courts of localities and the Commonwealth are systems separate from, and independent of, the College. Thus there is no double jeopardy in a student's being tried by both a county/state court and by the Student Court for the same offense.
The complete policy, concerning alcohol and other illegal drugs, is published annually in the Key, the student handbook.