Volunteer Service

Many students here are doing amazing things -- helping to build houses, working with kids, caring for abandoned animals, and cleaning up rivers and roadsides, just to name a few. Some are doing this work as part of service clubs. Others are in organizations (all kinds) that want to do service projects from time to time. And some are simply individuals responding to a call for help with a particular project. You can jump into volunteering in lots of different ways.

Our annual campus-wide day of service is the Big Event, which is usually held in April.  Several hundred students participate on that day in projects all across Prince Edward County as a way of giving back to our local community.

Service Clubs:

There are a growing number of service clubs and programs at Hampden-Sydney.  If you see something that interests you, contact the leader below.  If you have an interest that isn't met by one of these, consider starting your own program or club!

For more info, contact Karin Gollin at kgollin@hsc.edu.

ARC

 

The H-SC Animal Rescue Community works with the local animal shelter to help abandoned animals get adopted. They walk and socialize the dogs and cats. ARC has a theme house off-campus where they foster dogs.

Contact: Chase Grogg, groggc@hsc.edu

Circle K

 

Circle K is a Kiwanis-affiliated service and leadership club that does a wide range of service projects. They are known for work with the March of Dimes and have a theme house on campus.

Contact: Fred Antoine, antoinef14@hsc.edu
Habitat

 

The Habitat club supports the local Farmville Habitat organization.  They organize volunteers for the builds, raise funds, and raise awareness.

Contact: Dr. Susan Smith, ssmith@hsc.edu
HS Mentor Program

 

The Hampden-Sydney Mentor program pairs college students with local elementary and middle school students. Mentors go once a week to visit their "little brother" at school and become a positive presence in his life.

Contact: Paul Boydoh, boydohp14@hsc.edu
HS Volunteer Fire Department

 

While not a student club, the Hampden-Sydney Volunteer Fire Department is largely staffed by students. It provides protection to the College and to several areas of Prince Edward County.

Contact:Todd Pugh, tpugh@hsc.edu
Prince Edward County Volunteer Rescue Squad

 

The Fire Department operates an Emergency First Responder program that coordinates with the Prince Edward Volunteer Rescue Squad in the provision of emergency pre-hospital care.

Contact:Todd Pugh, tpugh@hsc.edu
Rotaract

 

Rotaract is a Rotary-affiliated service and leadership club.  They run fund-raisers and do other service projects for the community.

Contact: Matt Kanne, kannem@hsc.edu
If I Had a Hammer

 

A social enterprise run by students in the Social Entrepreneurship Program, If I Had a Hammer provides local elementary and middle schools with a fun, hands-on way for kids to learn math by building a house.

Contact:Chase Grogg, groggc@hsc.edu
HS Cares for Kids

 

Run by ODK, this is Hampden-Sydney's annual campaign to buy toys and clothing for local needy children.

Contact:Loren Hubbard, hubbardl@hsc.edu
Movember

 

Become a "Mo Bro!" In the month of November, students grow moustaches to raise awareness about men's health and also raise funds to support cancer survivors and cancer research.

 Contact: Tom Ewing, ewingt@hsc.edu