Office of Student Affairs
P.O. Box 5
Hampden Sydney, VA 23943
In 2011-12, H-SC students received aid totaling over $29 million.
Appendix C: Substance Abuse
Key Virginia Laws:
1. A person must be at least 21 years of age legally to possess, consume, or purchase alcoholic beverages.
2. A person of legal age (21 or over) may not lawfully buy alcohol for, or give alcohol to, a person under 21 years of age.
3. A person with a BAC (Blood Alcohol Content) of .08 or higher is considered to be Driving Under the Influence and at the time of arrest will have his license suspended for one week.
Key College Regulations:
1. Students will be arrested by Campus Security Officers for driving under the influence and will be taken to court and disciplined by the College. Note that the civil and criminal courts of localities and the Commonwealth are systems separate from, and independent of, the College. Thus, there is no double jeopardy in a student's being tried by both a county court and by the Student Court for the same offense.
2. Students who drive in a hazardous and/or destructive manner during or following the consumption of alcoholic beverages or illegal substances will be subject to serious disciplinary action: normally, at least Disciplinary Probation, a minimum $50 fine, and loss of motor vehicle privileges for at least the remainder of the semester in which the event occurs and the next full semester. All motor vehicles must be taken home or moved off campus. The disciplined student may not operate any motor vehicle on College property. He may operate other students' motor vehicles only off campus, and his vehicle may be operated only off campus. He may not be a passenger in or on his own motor vehicle on campus.
A student found guilty of Driving Under the Influence a second time during his career will, at a minimum, lose his motor vehicle privileges as described above for the rest of his career, and he will be subject to other disciplinary action.
3. Concerning illegal drugs, note that Virginia law extends the "Drug-Free School Zone" law to college and university campuses; this extension makes it a felony charge for the manufacture, sale, distribution, or possession of illegal drugs on or near a college or university campus. Conviction can result in penalties ranging from one to five years in prison and a fine up to $100,000, as well as the withdrawal of certain basic citizenship rights.
4. Normally, a student will be arrested by campus security officers if he is involved with illegal drugs.