H-SC Rockfish tournament

The 2012 H-SC vs. R-MC Rockfish showdown began on November 30 in Virginia Beach at the captains' party with crews gathering to register their boats, pick up their tournament items, and reunite with old friends.
Participants spent the evening reminiscing and planning for the great day to come. As tournament director Daniel LeGrande '02 said Friday evening, "We have been blessed with light winds, warm temperatures, and excellent fishing. Combine that with great friends and a college rivalry and we're in for an outstanding event!"

Crews awoke to slick waters and mild temperatures. It wasn't long before large rockfish began hitting the decks, and pictures started making their way through the tournament fleet by text. Around 2 pm, the boats began racing back to weigh the fish before an anxious crowd at The Back Deck Bar on Lynhaven Inlet. As one might imagine, the dock was quickly filled with stories of how the big one was landed or, naturally, the one that got away. On the day, more than 800 lbs of fish were caught.

As the fishermen retired to clean themselves, the tournament crew cleaned the day's catch that would serve as the main course for the awards ceremony. Country music singer/songwriter Drew Kennedy '02 came in from Austin, Texas, to add an H-SC stamp on the event.

Hampden-Sydney won the 2012 title boasting a clean sweep of all places. Including the Calcutta, teams were awarded more than $4,000 in prizes. The event raised $2,000 for each school and more than $1,000 for the Southeastern Virginia Foodbank, which will provide 3,125 meals over the holidays.

A special 'Thank you' goes out to the Tournament Committee: Chairman Daniel LeGrande '02; Co-Chairs Jonathan Dehart '03 and Brian Steadman (R-MC); Sponsorship Director Garrett Holden '02; and Katie LeGrande and Kate Mcknew in charge of registration and operations.This event, which is held on the first weekend in December, is open to everyone, and there are boats available for charter. You can find the event on Facebook, or by contacting Daniel LeGrande at hscrmcrockfish@gmail.com. Next year's tournament will be on December 7, so mark your calendar now.


· 1st. Place (66.0 lbs)- Team Just Right (Ben Winters '02, Jay Golden '02, Hayes Ludlum '02, Neil Gillis '99)

· 2nd. Place (61.4 lbs) - Team Wet Paint (Wayne Enroughty '83, Hank Sibley '88)

• 3rd. Place (60.2 lbs)- Team LeGrande Slam (Daniel LeGrande '02, Keith LeGrande '06, Connor Mathis '06, Joe Farmer '08, Andy Mahoney '02)

Rockfish tournament