Wilson Center Newsletter, May/June 2013

Student Summer Internship

Matthew Kanne '14:  Office of Delegate Christopher Peace, VA General Assembly.

Connor Crowley '14: DC office of Congressman Eric Cantor (VA-REP).

John Fitzgerald '14: Virginia Dental Association, Richmond (VA)

Hunter Brown '14: State Headquarters, Boy Scouts of America, Richmond (VA)

Benjamin Durham '14: George and Carol Olmstead Foundation, Washington, DC.

Baker Allen '14: Office of Governor Robert Bentley of Alabama.

Arley Morelock '14: Microbac Laboratories, Wilson, NC.

Trey Price '14: U.S. Department of State, Fulbright Office, Prague, Czech Republic.


Recent Alumni News

Kenneth Bradley '05 is serving a six-month detail to the Department of Veterans Affairs, Corporate Senior Executive Office, working on performance and talend management, as part of the President's Management Council Interagency Rotation Program.

Michael Server '03 has been promoted to major in the US Army.  Michael served two tours in Iraq as a Black Hawk helicopter pilot.

Demas Bourdreaux '02 has been appointed to the Board of Directors for Virginia21, an organization that engages young people in the political process by providing information, directing advocacy, and coordinating political action on a non-partisan agenda.

Shane Newcombe '02 has been elected governor of the Virginia Society of the Order of the Founders and Patriots of America.

Rob Harper '01 is a Communication Specialist at the Institute of Northern Engineering at the University of Alaska Fairbanks. He is currently serving under a joint appointment with the Alaska Department of Transportation and Public Facilities and the Alaska University Transportation Center.

James Samans '01 has been appointed a cyberspace operations officer in the U.S. Air Force Reserve and assigned to support a unit in South Korea.

Chris Kurowski '98 has been selected to serve as a Civilian Fellow to the inaugural Chief of Staff of the Army's Strategic Studies Group.  Chris is a graduate of the Wilson Center for Leadership.

Sekou Kaalund '97 is a managing director for the Institutional Asset Servicing business within JP Morgan Corporation and Investment Bank.  Sekou is a graduate of the Wilson Center for Leadership.

Steve Saunders '97 earned his Ph.D. in School Administration & Supervision from the Curry School of Education at the University of Virginia in May, 2013. His dissertation examined ways that school leaders can support and increase at-risk adolescent students' motivation and reading achievement. He also earned M.A.(1999) and M.Ed. (2008) degrees from UVA. He is an assistant principal with Albemarle County Public Schools.

Chris Chapel '93 heads up the governmental affairs and regulatory for Energy Resource which is part of NextEra Energy.  Chris is based in Florida.

Kevin Martingayle '88 has been voted the president-elect of the Virginia State Bar.

James Young '86 has been appointed to the Prince William County Bi-partisan Election Process Task Force as representative for the Human Rights Commission and elected chairman.

Maurice Jones '86 was the recipient of the 2012 Medical Dilpomat Award given by Physician for Peace.

Col. Herbert Seay '58 USMC (ret) was the keynote speaker at the dedication of the memorial monument for LunenburgCounty Veterans in Victoria.