Wilson Center Newsletter, May 2012



 2012 Convocation Ceremony


Kevin Anderson '12 - Joshua Warren White Award


                     John Chambers '13 - Lewis & Nell Drew Student Government Award 

Rose Galyon

Frank Rose '12 - Honors in Psychology                           James Galyon '15  - Rhetoric Essay Award


Andrew Craver '13 - William C. Finch Religion Award


                John Gibson '12 - Willard & Etta Sawyer Hart Bliss History Award


Christopher Turpin '12 - James Madison Award in Political Science


2012 Wilson Center Awards Banquet



 Dr. David Marion, President Christopher Howard, Walton Milam '12, Mary Helen Morgan and the Honorable Harvey Morgan


The Harvey B. Morgan award is given to a graduating senior who has successfully completed the requirements of the Public Service Program at Hampden-Sydney College and is presented each year at the banquet.  The award was established in 2000 by Mary Helen Morgan to pay tribute to her husband and his life of public service. 

The 2012 Harvey B. Morgan award was presented to Walton Milam, a senior economics major who interned last summer with the Danville Office of Habitat for Humanity.  After law school, Walton plans to return to Danville where he intends to combine a law practice with active engagement in public education and in civic affairs in his hometown.

    Lt. Col. Rucker Snead '81, Dr. James Y. Simms. Luke Hargroder '12, President Christopher Howard

Each year the Military Leadership Program awards the James Y. Simms National Security Studies Award to a graduating senior who has excelled in the field of national security studies.  This year the selection committee worked through a particularly challenging decision because our class of potential recipients was so strong. 

  The 2012 James Y. Simms National Security Studies Award was presented to Andrew Luke Hargroder.  


 2012 Military Commissions



2nd Lieutenant Thomas Weisel


2nd Lieutenant Edward Thomas


2nd Lieutenant Austin Sheppard


2nd Lieutenant Lain Healy