Wilson Center Newsletter, November 2011

Student & Alumni News


Cameron Auker '11 is a system engineer at the Naval Surface Warfare Center at Dahlgren Laboratories.

Trey Keeler '11 has accepted a job offer from Americans for Prosperity as their Virginia Field Coordinator.

Gregory Dear '10 is currently working the non-profit sector with Americorps and City Year in Washington, DC

Robert Murray '10 reported to Naval Officers Candidate School in Newport, RI.  Following graduation, he travels to CA for Naval Seal Team training.

Zachary Sanchez '09 is a Senior Field Rep for the U of Maryland, working at Camp Victory in Iraq.

Spc William Joeckel '09 is deployed to Baghdad, Iraq, with the US Army's 1st Battalion, 18th Infantry Regiment, 2nd Advise and Assist Brigade, 1st Infantry Division in support of Operation New Dawn.

Lt. Charles Eberly '09, an infantry platoon commander in the Marine Corps was featured in the article "From Order to the Corps" in The Kappa Alpha Journal. 

Capt. David Grisdale '08 was deployed to Kandahar Province, Afghanistan.  He is the Delta Company Executive Officer assigned to the 2-34 Armor Battalion currently attached to the 3rd Brigade, 10th Mountain Division.

Joshua Hatchell '08 passed the Virginia State Bar exam and has accepted a position in the Commonwealth Attorney's office in Mecklenburg County.

Charles Edahl '07 was honorably discharged from the US Army with the rank of Sergeant.  He works as a military foreign policy analyst.

Capt. Zachary Wasmer '06 is deployed to Camp Leatherneck, Afghanistan, in support of Operation Enduring Freedom.

William Meierling '04 attended a United Way Africa Regional conference in November.

Jeff Hubbard '02, an analyst with the General Accountability Office, has been designated for a six month assignment at the US Embassy in Ethiopia.

Courtney Persinger '01 has been elected to the City Council of Charleston, WV.

Robert Harper '01 is working for the Commissioner of Transportation and the University of Alaska in a joint position with the Alaska University Transportation Center as a Communication Specialist.

 Delegate Christopher Peace '98 is serving as the current president of the Historic Polegreen Church Foundation.  Chris represents the Virginia House of Delegates' 97th District.

Richard Bakewell '98 is a Foreign Service Officer for the US Department of State working in Tokyo, Japan.

Michael Shelton '86 was recognized  by the Alabama Rivers Alliance as a recipient of the River Hero 2010 Award for his outstanding work and commitment to protecting the state's rivers and watersheds.  Michael is a program coordinator at the Weeks Bay National Estuarine Research Reserve.

Barron Segar '84 has been promoted to VP, Regional Fundraising at US Fund for UNICEF.  In 2009, he was recognized nationally by Fundraising Success Magazine as their Fundraising Star of the Year.

Roszell Hunter '82 has been named senior vice president of International Advocacy Pharmaceutical Research & Manufacturers of America.

Warren Thompson '81 has been named treasurer for Gov. Tim Kaine's 2012 US Senate Campaign.

Fred Thompson '79 has been reappointed to the James Madison University Board of Visitors.

Charles Webb '78 has been selected by the Manatee County Bar Association as it President Elect. A retired colonel, US Marine Corps, Charles is Chairman of the City Commission and Deputy Mayor of Anna Maria, FL.

Robert Woltz '71 has retired as President of Verizon Virginia.  He serves on the Governor's Advisory Council on Revenue Estimates and the Virginia Coalfield Economic Development Authority Advisory Board.

LtCol Allen Hazelgrove '67 recently accepted an Air Force civil service position as the Chief of the Plans and Programs for the Air Force Targeting Center at Joint Base Langley-Eustis.

Julious P. Smith '65 has been appointed to the Richmond Economic Development Authority's Board of Directors by the Richmond City Council.

Col. Herbert Seay '58 joined many of his Vietnam Marine and Corpsman veterans at the dedication of Quantico Marine Museum monument to the 87 men of his infantry unit, Echo, 2nd Battalion, 7th Marines, who were killed in action.

Chuck McPhillips '82 received the Humanitarian Award of Catholic Charities of Eastern Virginia at an October luncheon in Norfolk.  Bishop Francis DiLorenzo presented the award.  http://www.catholicvirginian.org/archive/2011/2011vol86iss27/pages/article2.html

The Rev. Dr. Bob Bluford '45 was named the Virginian of the Year by the Virginia Press Association.  Dr. Bluford is the founder of the Historic Polegreen Church Foundation. http://www.historicpolegreen.org