Board of Advisors

Hal V. (Trey) Lackey '85, Chairman

Henrik Rasmussen '03, Vice Chairman

Timothy Beatty '97

Julious Smith '65

Cpt. Brad Israel '04

William Muse '70

Tayloe Negus '88

Craig Osth '73

Paul Pisano '89

Andrew Prehmus '08

Tucker Shumack '95

Kevin Turner '03

Joel Velasco '95

Brawner Greer '90

Dr. Curtis J. Smith

Frank L. Wheeler '85

Frank W. Roach '73

Louise Martin

Bernard Niemeier

The late Gen. Samuel V. Wilson (1923-2017)
Lt. Gen Samuel V. Wilson (USA ret), emeritus First Wilson Center Fellow; former Wheat Professor of Leadership Studies and President emeritus of Hampden-Sydney College, joined the Hampden-Sydney faculty after a military career that spanned four decades. His service included assignments behind Japanese lines in Burma in WWII and clandestine intelligence, covert propaganda, and paramilitary operations with the CIA during the Cold War. He served as a Special Forces Group commander ("Green Berets"), Deputy Assistant to the Secretary of Defense for Special Operations, Deputy to the Director of Central Intelligence, and concluded his career as Director of the Defense Intelligence Agency. 

Faculty Oversight Committee Members

Dr. J. Michael Utzinger, Elliott Professor of Religion 
Dr. Marc Hight, Elliott Professor of Philosophy 
Ms. Shaunna Hunter-McKinney, Director of the Library
Dr. Trey Thurman, Associate Professor of Physics and Astronomy
Dr. Rachel Goodman, Associate Professor of Biology
Dr. Roger Barrus, Elliott Professor of Government & Foreign Affairs