To express a concern about a student, please send an email to careteam@hsc.edu or contact a member of the Student CARE Team individually. Click for more information about how to help a struggling student and/or when and how to refer a student to counseling. 

Email CARE Team

Help a Student: TIPS

Purpose: 

The Student CARE Team provides a regular opportunity for College staff to discuss students of concern in an environment of care to obtain the largest possible perspective of student behavior and to work to assist students to resolve problematic behavior constructively in a timely manner.  The Care Team is comprised of representatives from academic and student affairs who meet weekly to discuss and develop interventions ("action plans") for individual student behavior before it escalates and becomes detrimental to the individual student or the College community. The Team examines available information about the student and situation, including strategies already implemented to deal with the behavior, when developing an action plan. The Team also looks at patterns of student behavior to identify the need for new policy or programmatic action that the institution may need to consider implementing (e.g. sexual assault, alcohol abuse, misuse of medical withdrawal, etc.).

Broadly, the Care Team addresses:

  • Behaviors that impair academic effectiveness when it is suspected that such behaviors are more than the result of irresponsible choices;
  • Behavior that is disruptive to the point of affecting the ability of the individual or others to successfully participate in campus life;
  • Behavior that is dangerous to self and/or others. (This is likely to result in a transfer from the H-SC Student CARE Team to the H-SC Threat Assessment Team.)

The Care Team encourages faculty, staff, fellow students, and family members to share concerns about student behavior that they feel is detrimental to the student or the community. However, it is important that we - as an institution that values diversity - understand that behaviors that may be unique or eccentric are not always detrimental, dangerous or threatening.

Student CARE Team Members: 

Chair, Assistant Dean for Substance Education: Renae Mancastroppa rmancastroppa@hsc.edu
Dean of Students: Richard Pantele, rpantele@hsc.edu
Assistant Dean of Students for Campus & Residential Life: TBD
Associate Dean of the Faculty: Eric Dinmore, edinmore@hsc.edu
Director of Academic Success: Lisa Burns lburns@hsc.edu
Director of Student Health: Kimberly R. Ball, kball@hsc.edu
Director of Public Safety and Chief of Police: Mark Fowler mfowler@hsc.edu
Deputy Chief of Police: Noel Malave, nmalave@hsc.edu
College Chaplain: Keith Leach, kleach@hsc.edu
Head Athletic Trainer: Alison Cameron, acameron@hsc.edu

PLEASE NOTE: The Family Education and Rights Privacy Act (FERPA) allows College officials to share information with one another, without prior student consent, under the following conditions (34 CFR § 99.31): when there is a "legitimate educational interest" and when College officials have direct experience of erratic or threatening behavior. FERPA also allows College officials to notify parents about imminent risk to health and safety without the student's prior consent.